1st January

To say I am glad to see the back of 2015 is the understatement of the year, albeit a year that is not even 12 hours old.

On this day of resolutions and plans, with the fresh, squeaky-clean months ahead of us, I can’t help but think how my plans for 2015 were blown to smithereens by my cancer diagnosis in March.

Making any concrete plans for 2016 feels inappropriate at the moment; not because I won’t be doing anything; on the contrary, I anticipate being very busy. However I am going to be a little less prescriptive, a little more organic and empirical than I have been in the past. I will stay fluid, so I can negotiate life’s rocks and crevices like a flowing river, turning and adapting as I go.

The only things that are certain is that I will continue breathing in and out, and putting one foot in front of the other, both literally and figuratively. Oh, I know the line about the inevitability of death and taxes, but I’ve done my tax return and… well, I’ll just leave it at that.

IMG_5416

2 thoughts on “1st January

Leave a Reply

