25th June

Something strange is happening. Not my hair loss, although that is surreal enough. No, the really odd thing is that I have virtually no hair and… I’m OK with it! Really OK with it. It took a few days to get used to my new look, I will admit, but get used to it I have. That honeysuckle scent is clearly powerful stuff!

As we had planned, my husband shaved my head on Saturday evening. It was a tough ask, but he bit the bullet, set the clippers to No. 3 and did the deed. My first look in the mirror was a horrific experience. Nothing had prepared me for seeing myself with so little hair, the shape of my head fully revealed. I was shocked, I cried and I felt desolate.

Since then, more of the remaining fuzz has fallen out, leaving behind a patchwork effect. Today I have had my second chemo session and, with more of the poisonous healer now flowing through my system, the rest will doubtless fall in the next day or two.

The act of shaving a woman’s head has been used in many ways throughout history: to humiliate, to punish, to label as prisoner, to dehumanise, to de-feminise. But it has also been used by women themselves in very positive ways: to empower, to rebel, to reclaim, to simplify one aspect of life as a woman, to make a statement, to enhance spirituality.

On Saturday, as the clippers buzzed over my head and the hair fell down over my shoulders and onto the floor, I had myriad images in my mind of women who have had this inflicted upon them, and of those who have chosen to brave the shave.

In the few days since then, I have become accustomed to my new look. At first it was hard to go out wearing one of my small but growing collection of chemo headwear but it is getting easier every day. I hold my head up, look ahead and smile  (and in the summer sunshine, rocking a cool pair of sunglasses really helps with my nascent confidence!)

I know there will be tough days ahead, days when I can’t face the world, days when a look from a stranger is too much, days when I want to hole up in my little cottage and commune only with our dog and the garden. And that is fine.

For now though, I look in the mirror and I see a woman doing what is necessary to survive this cancer malarkey. I definitely feel more aligned with the simple, the spiritual and the bold, rather than the humiliated and unfeminine. Like my peonies, coming into bloom after a rain, something new, and perhaps even beautiful, can emerge after a storm.

IMG_4875

8 thoughts on “25th June

  1. I have had my hair cut off against my will twice in my life. Once by my dad who disapproved of my new hairstyle, the second when I got beaten up by two women, one of which was the wife of a guy I was seeing who told me he was separated from her. Both events have had a lasting affect on me. I am in awe of your acceptance of your baldness. I hope it doesn’t last too long xxx

    Like

    1. Hi Judith
      I am honoured that you chose to quote my blog in your article! Many of my posts refer to the joy and therapy I get from being in my garden, and I have no doubt it is instrumental in helping me through my illness – whether I am well enough to potter and pull a few weeds, or on the days when I can only sit and smell the flowers. If I can be of any further help in the future, do let me know.
      Sally

      Like

  2. Great article on gardening Judith, I can definitely see the help it gives in terms of exercise and nurturing and watching nature grow.

    Sally I wish you well in the remainder of your treatment. I am dreading losing my hair, I only hope I can be as brave as you have been xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

