A Few Words about Dogs’ Noses

If you have read the ‘About Me‘ page, you will know that I am a dog trainer. I am particularly fascinated by dogs’ sense of smell. Dogs get so much sensory pleasure and important information from sniffing; I encourage all my clients to incorporate it into brain games and training exercises for their dogs.

I don’t think we humans have even scratched the surface of what the canine nose can do for us. One of my favourite charities is Medical Detection Dogs, who train dogs to detect various cancers, with an increasing and seemingly miraculous degree of accuracy. They also train medical alert dogs who support their owners with conditions such as diabetes. Proof positive – if any more were needed – that dogs truly are our best friends.

I joked to my husband that our dog Katy should have spotted my cancer before I did but, as you can see from the photo, she prefers to use her nose in a far more rustic way!

You may also have gleaned from the About Me page that, prior to working with dogs, I was a magazine journalist and editor for the best part of 20 years. Since leaving that profession, I miss having a direction and purpose for my writing. So I am excited that I have been given the opportunity to work as a volunteer journalist for Medical Detection Dogs. I hope to be writing content for their website, supporters magazine and so on. To combine my two passions in this way is thrilling and has lifted my spirits beyond measure.

If you would like to read more about the amazing work of this charity, please do visit their website http://medicaldetectiondogs.org.uk/2014-09-28 09.54.00

2 thoughts on “A Few Words about Dogs’ Noses

Leave a Reply

